Vigorous Misdemeanor Defense in Polk County, FL
Experienced attorney protects defendants’ rights
Though they are lesser offenses than felonies, misdemeanors are still serious crimes that incur county jail sentences of up to one year and costly fines. A misdemeanor conviction can wreak havoc on your life, affecting your work, your finances and your family. Attorney John B. Flynn can reduce the impact of a misdemeanor charge. He draws on significant experience from both sides of the criminal court aisle to ensure clients receive the best advice and legal representation.
Minor crimes equal major headaches without strong representation
Under Florida law, misdemeanor crimes are categorized as either first degree or second degree. The former is punishable by up to one year in county jail and a $1,000 fine, and the latter, by up to six months in county jail and a $500 fine. The Flynn Law Group provides exemplary criminal law representation to adults and juveniles for a wide range of misdemeanor charges, including:
- Assault — It is not necessary to cause bodily injury to another person to be charged with assault. Florida law defines simple assault as a second degree misdemeanor when someone makes “an intentional, unlawful threat by word or act to do violence to the person of another, coupled with an apparent ability to do so, and doing some act which creates a well-founded fear in such other person that such violence is imminent.”
- Driving under the influence (DUI) — A first offense is a second degree misdemeanor. Subsequent DUIs are first degree misdemeanors.
- Crimes related to prostitution — Under Florida law, it is illegal to offer to commit prostitution, operate a place of prostitution, facilitate prostitution, solicit sex for hire or reside in any place for the purpose of prostitution. A first violation is a second degree misdemeanor. A second violation is a first degree misdemeanor. Subsequent violations are felonies.
- Petit (petty) theft — Classification of theft depends on the value of the item stolen and other aggravating circumstances. For example, simple theft of property valued at $100 or more but less than $300 is petit theft of the first degree, a first degree misdemeanor.
- Trespass — Depending on the circumstances, prosecutors can charge trespass as a felony or misdemeanor of the first or second degree.
- Vandalism — The offense of criminal mischief includes tagging property with graffiti. As with theft, the degree of the crime depends on the value of the property in question. When damage amounts to $200 or less, the crime is a second degree misdemeanor. If the damage is greater than $200 but less than $1,000, the crime is punishable as a first degree misdemeanor.
As a former prosecutor, attorney Flynn has had significant contact with the criminal justice system. He understands how police, prosecutors and judges think and how best to position clients to prevail.
Contact our dedicated legal team in today for aggressive misdemeanor defense
Dealing with your misdemeanor defense matter may seem daunting. Trust the Flynn Law Group for a lawyer who is skilled at protecting your rights and interests. We offer free consultations at our office or the jail if needed. Payment plans are available, and we take credit cards. Call our Bartow office at 863-533-6707 or contact us online. We can help.