Experienced DUI Attorney Represents Defendants in Bartow
Central Florida law firm defends clients accused of driving under the influence
It is illegal to operate a vehicle in Florida while under the influence of alcohol, controlled substances or chemical substances. If you are found to be impaired while operating a vehicle, you could face a suspended license, heavy fines and even jail time. Attorney John B. Flynn at the Flynn Law Group is a skilled litigator who works diligently to get your charges dropped or reduced. We charge affordable fees in Florida DUI defense cases.
Understanding Florida’s DUI laws
Like all states, Florida takes the crime of DUI seriously. There were more than 42,000 arrests in the state for DUI in 2014, including nearly 600 within Polk County. It’s against the law for adults to operate a vehicle when they are impaired or when their blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or above. Commercial drivers cannot operate their vehicles with a BAC of 0.04% or above, and drivers under 21 years old will be arrested for the extremely low BAC of 0.02% or above. Our attorney fights any traffic charges against you.
Working to minimize the penalties associated with your DUI arrest
Even a first-offense DUI arrest can result in jail time under certain circumstances. John Flynn wages a formidable defense to protect clients’ rights and your freedom. The sentences for driving while under the influence in the Bartow area range in severity as follows:
- First offense. If you are arrested for driving while intoxicated, you face up to six months in jail and a license suspension of six months to one year. Penalties can be higher when a minor is in the car with you or when your BAC is 0.15% or higher. Community service is also required.
- Second offense. A second DUI conviction results in higher fines and possible imprisonment of nine months. If your second DUI happens within five years of the first conviction, you must be imprisoned for at least 10 days. You may lose your license for five years or more.
- Third offense. Third and subsequent offenses mandate higher fines and longer prison sentences. A habitual offender may face a five-year jail sentence. If your third arrest occurs within 10 years of your first conviction, you will face felony charges. If you are convicted, your license is revoked for at least 10 years. A fourth conviction results in permanent revocation.
- Refusal to take a chemical test. Refusal to submit to a breath or blood test results in an automatic one-year license suspension.
If you cause someone to suffer serious injury or death while driving under the influence, you can be charged with a felony. Our results-oriented attorney fights to minimize the charges against you.
Our attorney battles the state so you can keep or reinstate your license
We take a hands-on approach to each Florida DUI case. By tenaciously fighting the charges against you and challenging all of the prosecution’s evidence, our knowledgeable Bartow, FL criminal defense attorney may be able to get charges dismissed or reduced to reckless driving. If you are convicted, we help you apply for a hardship license so that you can drive back and forth to work.
Trust us to represent you in your Polk County DUI case
Attorney John B. Flynn at the Flynn Law Group represents DUI defendants throughout central Florida. We care about our clients and provide professional service at a reasonable price. To schedule a free initial consultation with a Bartow DUI defense lawyer, call us now at 863-533-6707 or contact us online. We can meet with you in our office or in jail, if necessary.